Apple Tree Analogy

Ok, I just had to link to this analogy a fellow blogger posted on her blog today – http://heavenlyhomemakers.com/blog/listen-to-the-apple-tree

It paints a picture of exactly where my thoughts have been lately in regards to my own life. You may recall my Responsibility Meltdown. Even just last night, I heard a woman say that you are either in survival mode or successful mode (and some other mode, but I don’t remember what it was). As soon as she said that I thought, “I have totally been in survival mode for YEARS now.” Well, with the kids in school more this year, I have some more time on my hands. The thought of possibly getting to a place in my life where I am not just surviving, has been so exciting. So, as I looked at how I wanted to spend that time, I had a choice to make.

You know, I could have scheduled myself to have something every day that my kids were in school of M,W,F (seriously, there was potential for it). And thankfully, this time, I could foresee what that would look like, and so I decided not to. I am so looking forward to more time for myself. More time to rest, spend time with God, and even do the things that need to be done around the house, so I don’t feel so under the pile when there are piles all over the house!

But you know, it’s like I commented on this lady’s blog…it’s hard not to feel like a slacker when you see other apple trees producing like crazy and you’re not. I am amazed at how hard it has been and is for me to allow myself to rest and not worry about what other trees think of me or comparing myself to those trees. You know, thanks to this analogy, I can see that my years of producing again will come. But, just like the apple tree, I need time to rest. And as far as I see it, I will be producing a different kind of fruit this year- hopefully more fruits of the Spirit like peace, patience, kindness, and gentleness as a result of not being in such a survival mode.

So, where are you? Are you in a season of resting, or producing buckets of apples? Are you in survival mode or succeeding or whatever the third one was? 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under In my Brain

2 responses to “Apple Tree Analogy

  1. Well I’d have to say I’m probably in the 3rd mode you can’t remember! Let me know if you remember it. I’m glad you’re taking time for yourself. I was in survival mode for awhile. I may even be entering it soon. Enjoy your time of rest and your time with God.

  2. Pingback: Craving Grace» Blog Archive » sermon reflection 9.07.09

Leave a comment