Steak and Shake in a Shaky Economy

We are in one of those stages right now where I just can not figure out what in the world to fix and eat for dinner. Anything I can possibly think of to make here, just sounds horrible. So tonight, we headed to one of the kids’ favorite places, Steak and Shake, for dinner.

We had the nicest waitress. I told her of my struggle with being pregnant and not knowing what I wanted to eat, as I was trying to choose between a hamburger or a spicy chicken sandwich (a big hit for me lately). She completely empathized with me and told us of how she has four kids. Through out our time there, we inquired more of her and began to learn more of her life.

Turns out she and her family just moved here 2 months ago because her husband was laid off in Alabama. They came here to be closer to an Uncle. I asked her how her kids were adjusting to the move. She tells us how they are not doing well at all with it because they are all staying in a shelter. Apparently her husband goes to work during the day and she comes to work at night. But even then, she is only able to get 20 hours a week. The economy is definitely being hard on them!

Jason and I were so moved listening to her tell their story. A few times my eyes welled up with tears thinking of their family of 6 sleeping in one room in a shelter. It was neat because it wasn’t like she was having a pity party and pouring all this on us, but as we asked questions, she just opened up and shared from her heart. She had such a positive spirit about it all and even mentioned how God would take care of them. It was convicting because as I anticipate hardship for ourselves this next year, I get very fearful of how the Lord will provide for us. Yet, I am reminded tonight and through another friend’s story of God’s provision that I just read, that He will take care of us. We will make it with His help!

1 Comment

Filed under In my Brain

One response to “Steak and Shake in a Shaky Economy

  1. Thanks! I love this and I love Steak’n’Shake…don’t have any in CO but we loved it in Indy and MI. Thanks for sharing this. Great reminder.

Leave a Reply

