Hyperemesis Gravidarum

No – Hyperemesis gravidarum is not a term to describe my children’s overactivity, this is the term used to describe this horrible condition that my body is now experiencing. It is described as “unrelenting, excessive pregnancy-related nausea and/or vomiting that prevents adequate intake of food and fluids.” And that is for sure. I like the word they chose – unrelenting. It is horrible and lasts all day. Here is another site that describes it well – http://www.hyperemesis.org/hyperemesis-gravidarum/

I’ll never forget when I was pregnant with Natalie and was so sick. Here is what the Dr would say at each of my check-ups:

8 week visit – “Jill. I’m sorry you are so sick. Usually it doesn’t last past 12 weeks, so hang in there for a few more weeks.”

12 week visit – “Hopefully you’ll see some relief soon. Most people aren’t sick past 16 weeks.”

16 week visit – “Oh, Jill. Well, it is very rare, but there are some women that are sick up until 20 weeks.”

20 week visit – “Well, Jill, I have seen a few cases where the woman was sick throughout the pregnancy.”

It was at this point that I was admitted to the hospital for severe vomiting and dehydration. I was sent home quickly after being put on an IV for a few hours, only to return a couple of days later. The second time I stayed in the hospital for a few days while they tried me on different anti-emetics (anti-nausea) medicines. I was then sent home with a home health nurse that provided me with an IV to keep me hydrated.

So, for the the next pregnancy, my Dr did not even mess around or wait for me to go to the hospital. He put me on anti-nausea medicine right away. And the same has happened with this pregnancy. In fact, he even put me on two anti-nausea medicines. Unfortunately I had an adverse reaction to the second one this past Thursday. It was horrible! Just picture the worse panic attack ever, where you can’t breathe, sit still, or stop crying. So, needless to say, I am not taking that one any more.

As you can see from my experience with pregnancy, this is not a good thing for me. And I think this time is even harder for me emotionally because it wasn’t something I was planning to ever experience again. I would appreciate any prayers for me both for emotional help and physical help! And please pray that God would cause this nausea to stop soon and very soon. At the very least, I would just love to have a few days of reprieve.

6 Comments

Filed under In my Brain

6 responses to “Hyperemesis Gravidarum

  1. Jenny M

    Oh Jill! I’m sooo sorry–that sounds horrible! I’ll be praying and praying and praying…

    Love you – Jenny

  2. Allison Hooks

    I can’t even begin to imagine how awful you must feel, especially since there are still two young kids to watch after too. You and this precious baby are in our prayers every day.

  3. I’ll be praying for you. Your reaction to the new meds sounds horrible.

  4. Jill-
    I haven’t ever been on this blog- it’s excellent! I am thrilled that God is performing another miracle in you. I know it’s rough. I’ve had it bad, too. I’m praying for even some MOMENTS of reprieve. It might be all you get for now, but the Lord will provide just what you need.

  5. Are you eating gluten at all? When I mentioned that I am always gluten free to a midwife during my last pregnancy she said “oh good, I bet you havent been sick a bit” and it’s true! Apparently cutting out gluten is a new weapon against extreme nausea. the MW I spoke with had 7 women with severe sickness. 5 were able to be med free just by cutting the gluten out. With my previous pregnancies I was pretty sick and with Levi I couldnt keep water, food, or my meds down.

    Congrats on your pregnancy and I hope the nausea abates soon.

  6. everevanescent

    Just ran across your blog! I also suffered from HG during my pregnancy…. we really want another baby but I’m just not sure I can do it again. Every time I hear about someone being pregnant and glowing and healthy it makes me cry!

Leave a Reply

