Test Positive or Negative???


That’s right! There were two tests. One at home on Saturday (you know the kind that says on the box 99% accurate), and one at the Dr. yesterday. Let’s just say the test at home was not accurate!

So, we are sitting in the Dr’s office because I have had this cyst on my right ovary, and because my home pregnancy test said negative, we were thinking that the Dr. was going to tell me that I needed to have surgery to remove this cyst. You see, I have been nauseous and throwing up since last Tuesday. But because my test said negative, then the cyst had to have been what was causing me to be sick. Right? As I get all my vitals checked, the nurse asked me if I wanted to pee in a cup again to make sure I wasn’t pregnant. I was like, “Why? The home test said negative. Should I do it again?” And she says, “Well, it’s up to you. If you want to.” And I’m thinking, “What!? If I want to! Didn’t the test say negative! Isn’t that good enough! And, well, you’re the nurse…what am I supposed to do?” So, I pee in the cup, but still just wondering what the Dr is going to say about my cyst.

We go in the room to wait for the Dr and the nurse pops her head in and says, “It’s positive!” And I say, “NO WAY! But the test said negative.” To which she replies, “Well, mine says positive.” Then she leaves the room.

So, to make a long story short…let’s just say this was a big surprise! I am still trying to absorb it all! I mean, did I mention the first test was negative! Plus, we have NOT ONE baby item in our house! I never thought I would have another baby, so once Nicholas was done with things, I got rid of it all. And then there’s the whole throw up thing! After all, in my pregnancies with Natalie and Nicholas, I was sick the WHOLE 9 MONTHS! And I have already started getting sick for a week now! So, it is a lot for me to take in. But I have already decided that I’ll just take it one day at a time.

As for the rest of us…well they’re very excited! In fact, they already have said that after this one I have to another one. You know it would only be fair to have one new playmate for Natalie and one for Nicholas. HA! Plus, Jason has always wanted more kiddos.

I do have to tell you one more story about Natalie. She came in my room last night and said, “Mommy, can I feed the baby?” And I say, “Sure you can help feed the baby some.” To which she says, “No, I was thinking I could feed the baby and you could change the diapers”. HA! I told her I’m sure she will be changing some diapers but that she didn’t have to do stinky ones. So, she agreed to that. What a crack-up!

So, as you think of it, please pray for me and this pregnancy. Please pray that I will not be nauseous like I was with Nat and Nick, and certainly not sick the whole time again! And that all around, everything will all come together.

17 Comments

Filed under About the Kiddos, In my Brain

17 responses to “Test Positive or Negative???

  1. Oh my goodness, I KNEW it 🙂 I am going to pray that you’re not nauseous for the next 9 months (there’s only so many Gilmore Girls episodes to go around…..but my roommate also has all the seasons of Grey’s, so there’s always that….).

    Howell kids are the CUTEST!!!! Congratulations!

  2. Rinnie

    Wow, a huge congrats!!! And don’t worry, between Pam and I we could cloth a baby boy or girl (or both!!)

  3. Anna

    Oh my goodness! Congratulations! And don’t you worry about baby stuff – your friends will take care of you. Our circle is a gold mine for all things baby. And what great timing on that point, because the 2 dozen babies born this year at church will be out of all baby stuff by the time your baby needs it. 🙂

  4. Hana

    NO WAY! This is amazing! Congratulations! I’m so excited for you guys!

  5. Marianne W.

    Oh my goodness!!!!!! This is so exciting! Congratulations!!!! How far along are you?

  6. Congratulations, Jill & Jason! Ha! We knew it!!

    Love,
    Mike & Suzy

  7. pam

    I can’t even believe it, Jill!!!! That’s so crazy!! Congratulations! Is it my imagination or is there a very slight positive line in the home pregnancy test? You must be super early still…like 4-5 weeks. I’m going to pray HARD for you. I really, really hope it’s not such a hard pregnancy. I’m shocked! …and happy for you!

  8. Sounds like you two had a very good time on your trip to New York for your anniversary recently!!! Haha!! Don’t you just love surprises? Congratulations to you both!!! That is awesome…and probably a little scary at the same time for you. Our #3 was a shock and surprise, too! But, oh what a joy our Amanda has been…a bright burst of sunshine into our lives! Anyway, we are super-thrilled for you guys and I will certainly pray for you that your sickness will be as minimal as possible. I was always so sick when I was pregnant with our girls. Sleep good tonight, ok? Love you guys!!!

  9. Russ

    Awesome…I get another Howell in my class in about 3 years! Congratulations.

  10. Kristin

    I thought the same as Pam. Slight line on the home one.
    BUT, Jill, I was on the phone with you. You said, “Oh no!” when the nurse said “It’s positive”. 🙂
    So excited for you guys and praying already.
    KS

  11. Jenny M

    YAY! Wow… congrats Jill & Jason. Jill–I’ll be praying for you!

  12. Wow!!! Congratulations!!! Very cool!

  13. Amy

    Oh my gosh! Congratulations!

  14. Liz

    Congratulations! What a surprise! I will be praying for a smooth and comfortable pregnancy! Love you!

  15. Hey Jill! Meme called me tonight to tell me about your good news! Congratulations! I am praying for you.

  16. Lisa

    Jill,
    Congrats! I’m so excited for you guys!!! Just now catching up on my blog readings while I was gone, and yours contained the best news by far! Yeah for more cute Howell kiddos! Will be praying for you, pregnancy sickness is no fun no matter how long it lasts.

  17. comm48

    Congratulations, Jill! Call me if you need a backup babysitter.

Leave a Reply

