Will I Make It?

My sweet girl is starting Kindergarten tomorrow! It’s really bizarre because I really didn’t think that I would be very emotional about it, and yet, every time I think about it, my eyes tear up!

I was putting her to bed tonight and prayed for her day tomorrow. As I was praying, I just started crying. I think it is mostly because I just will miss her so much! And there is this part of me that is sad because she will be having these experiences throughout her day, that I won’t be a part of. Part of the process of letting go, I suppose. Trusting God that He loves her more than I do, that He will protect her, and guide her.

It doesn’t help matters any that we received an invitation to a “Kleenex and Coffee” after I drop her off tomorrow. And here is what the invite said:

“We hold their hands, then let them go
That’s when our tears begin to flow.”

She is growing up. Unfortunately I can’t stop it from happening. And I am trying oh so hard to look forward to the adventure ahead and seeing what God has in store for my sweet little girl! Maybe I will cry so much tonight, that there won’t be any tears left for tomorrow.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Will I Make It?

  1. Anna

    Oh my goodness, I feel the exact same way, and Evie’s just going to preschool twice a week! All last week people were asking, “Are you nervous?,” “Are you sad?,” and I really wasn’t, but today I’ve teared up every time I think about it! I agree that it’s so bizarre that there will be a 5-hour block of time that I’ll have no idea what she’s experiencing. I need to remind myself of what you wrote – that God loves her more than I do and that he’ll protect her.

  2. Pam

    Jill…I feel the same way about Adam. I’ve been completely fine about it. Even looking forward to it until about 3:00 this afternoon. All of the sudden I’ve been all upset, too. I’m glad you wrote this post because I’ve been feeling like I’m being too melodramatic. It’s nice to know that other moms are feeling the same way.

  3. Pingback: Mom’s Not Handling it Well at The Johnson Hut

  4. Jen

    Last year was really hard for me, which really surprised me too. I am not usually a crier but I was so weepy the weekend before Lindsey started Kindergarten!

    The good news is…I survived a whole year which means you all will too!! And Lindsey had a great time and I even enjoyed some of it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hang in there girls and just bring kleenex!

  5. Kristin

    Oh, Jill, I love the “Kleenex and Coffee” idea. Hope things went well today.
    Do treasure these moments and don’t wish time away!

  6. I understand your pain. It’s very similar to my own, except that I have been through the first day of kindergarten a couple of times before. But, it sure doesn’t get any easier to send them off that first day. It’s funny that I started writing something similar about my feelings when I read your blog & Pam’s. ๐Ÿ™‚ At least we can comfort ourselves knowing we’re not the only ones that feel this way.

Leave a Reply

