What’s UP

I thought I would document and give you all an update on what is going on in our house.

~ For starters, someone in our house has been sick for the past 3 weeks! Mine just started last week. The crazy thing is that this blasted GERM does not go away easily! There have been sore throats, coughs, congestion, pink eyes, and many nights of disturbed sleep. Poor Jason thought his was getting better, only to find himself coughing a lung up again at 3:00 in the morning last night.

~ Then there is sweet Nicholas. We just found out that he is allergic to eggs (surprise, surprise. so is the rest of his family) and he is allergic to garlic. That’s right…GARLIC! Do you realize how hard it is to avoid that one?! Oh my stars, it’s in everything! I even discovered it is in the spice containers of chili powder.

~ Making dinner tonight while avoiding GARLIC was quite a challenge. I was very excited to find a bottle of chili powder without garlic in it at the store. So, I make up all of my sauce for some chicken burritos tonight. I decide to taste it before adding chicken, and WOW! Can you say, “FIRE!” My mouth was on FIRE! I decided to recheck this new chili powder only to find it was Chipotle Chili PEPPER! Oh dear! Thank goodness I discovered it before making up all those burritos and serving them to my unsuspecting kiddos! So, yes, I did start all over. And, needless to say, I did not use any chili powder or Chili PEPPER. πŸ™‚

~ Then, there is the lingering issue of Nicholas’ growth concern. To catch you up to speed, he is not growing much or gaining any weight. Drs have been concerned, so we did some blood work. That showed that he is deficient in IGF-1 hormone. Meaning that there is either not enough growth hormone being produced or there is, but because he does not have enough IGF-1, it does not travel to the rest of his body. So, now there is the lingering question of how we will proceed from here. Please pray for us if you think of it. And if you know of anyone that has dealt with this before, then please let me know. Especially if they approached it from an alternative standpoint.

So, lots Happening in the Howell Household! Thanks for listening (reading). πŸ™‚

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “What’s UP

  1. Jill, my sister in law has given ############## shots to 2 of her four children…it’s been great. Call me and I will give you her contact info. She did tons of research and can talk you thorugh the process.

  2. I remembered little Nicholas in my prayers last night and asked God to give you all (and the doctors, too)wisdom for the best way to help him. πŸ™‚

  3. Allison

    Wow, it sounds like you guys have a lot going on right now. I hope everyone is feeling better so you can come to the beach this week. Good luck as you decide how to best help Nicholas; I’m sure that will be a difficult decision but we’ll pray that you will find the best course for him.

    On an unrelated note…you’ve been tagged on my blog.

  4. Garlic!? Garlic is so good! Bummer. Maybe going to the beach will get y’all feeling better.

  5. Pingback: Bookmarks about Germ

Leave a Reply

