Mother’s Day

Today has been a good day so far. I was woken up by sweet Natalie and Nicholas running in our room saying, “Happy Mother’s Day”. We went to church, came home and opened presents, and ate lunch. Now I am off to take a nap. But before I go, I wanted to share with you what Natalie said the other day.

We were discussing how Mother’s Day was coming up and then Father’s Day next month. And she says, “Is there a kid day?”

And lastly, I wanted to share a haiku I wrote (my first one, by the way) for a contest on a blog I read. I didn’t win, but wanted to post it here for my mom (especially since I didn’t send a Mother’s Day card yet. I don’t know what happened, I have it and even thought about sending it on Wed, but thought it was too early. I waited and then forgot. uuggh). Anyways, we were supposed to write a haiku about our moms and I wrote mine based on a song my mom and I used to sing together when I was little. It is by Helen Reddy and is called, “You and Me Against the World.” Enjoy!

My mom and my friend
I could count on you to stay
together forever

in the times we cried
I knew God was on our side
love forever

time flies by each day
remembering we’ll have to do
memories forever

3 Comments

Filed under About the Kiddos

3 responses to “Mother’s Day

  1. Great picture of you and the kids! I love that song by Helen Reddy, by the way. Oh, and I have to share that laugh with you about Natalie asking when is there a “Kids Day”? Sierra asked the same thing today and I had to laugh. I told her Christmas is Kids’ Day. But, I remember people in the past responding to that question with, “Every day is Kids’ Day!!” 🙂

  2. Pam

    That poem was sweet, Jill.

  3. I *love* writing Haiku! (Haikus?) Lovely.

Leave a Reply

