Another Unwanted Guest

That’s right, my friends. This time it is not a snake, but a RODENT! At least that is what we suspect and let me tell you why.

I have been sleeping a couple of times in Natalie’s room (yes, that’s what happens when Jason and I are fighting!) 🙂 Just kidding. Actually, Natalie has been really sick with her belly this week. I was going to write about that and post the over-dramatic happenings of the child, but unfortunately I came down with a cold and didn’t get much of anything done! Let’s just say the girl does not handle pain well at all! So, anyway, there have been a couple of nights that she was so miserable that we had her come in our bed with us. But then, I couldn’t sleep with her in there, so I went to sleep in her bed.

The first night, I was asleep in her bed and awoke suddenly to what I thought was a knock on her window. I, of course, flipped out, went to wake up Jason, and we searched around trying to figure out where it came from. I told him, then, that I thought maybe it was coming from something in the wall. He assured me that wouldn’t be possible since there are 2x4s in the wall. So, I went on back to sleep.

Well, last night, I was in there again and realized very quickly that it had to be a creature in the wall! I just kept hearing scratching and various noises on and off. This was all at 4:30 in the morning, mind you! It was disturbing this time and I couldn’t go back to sleep. Especially with a potential creature right next to my head. So, I moved out to the couch and did manage to get back to sleep.

We were in a mad rush for church this morning (due to the lack of sleep – ho, who am I kidding…we are always late to church), and didn’t pay much attention to anything. When we got home and were making lunch, I noticed about a 1/4 of a banana eaten and gnawed at! We also noticed lovely shavings of particle board under one of our kitchen cabinets! The thing had dug its way through and came right in our kitchen and helped himself! Yikes!

So, what to do now?! The thing has obviously found food and will come back for more. Jason is going to buy some sort of trap tonight and place it by his little hole. Hopefully it will work. Although, I am not sure I want to be the one to discover if it did work, if you know what I mean! Hopefully I can sleep well tonight knowing there is a critter trying to make residence in our home!

3 Comments

Filed under Around the House

3 responses to “Another Unwanted Guest

  1. rob

    bring the snake back. he’ll take care of the rodent. then get a hawk to take out the snake.

    we had a lizard in our house. decided not to catch him. we have less bugs now.

  2. Oh, my! Sounds like some kind of rat or other rodent I suppose. Have you seen that new show on TV called, “Verminators”? It’s pretty interesting! Anyway, I hope you catch the little fella. But, you know…where’s there’s one, there are usually more, too! In your case, I hope there’s only one! Good luck!

  3. erik

    That’s exactly why we don’t eat bananas!

Leave a Reply

