Yankee or Dixie?

bellMy friend, Renee sent this quiz out over e-mail the other day. Are you a Yankee or a Dixie?

Can you guess what my score was? That’s right – 89% DIXIE! YEE HAW! It’s so great to have southern roots. Especially when you see the quiz. I mean, is there really another way to say Aunt, Pajamas, or Creek?!

So, what about you?

Additional info – Be sure not to change your answers, because it will effect your score. If you want to see what the other answers are, then do it after you’ve scored it.

9 Comments

Filed under Random

9 responses to “Yankee or Dixie?

  1. Anna

    This was a fun quiz. There were several questions where I know my answers have changed since my early childhood in New England (like I used to say “aunt” like it rhymes with “want,” and I used to always call soda “Coke.”) But, my score was 59% Dixie, which they said was “barely into” the Dixie category. I thought that was about right – slightly more Dixie than Yankee now that I’ve lived here so long. I’ll have to get Matt to take this!

  2. karintome

    We have so much in common, you and I!

    76% (Dixie). That is a pretty strong Southern score!

  3. 48% (Yankee). Barely into the Yankee category.

    I guess I’m just about half and half which makes sense.

  4. It’s says I am “57% Dixie…barely into the Dixie category”. Well, for what it’s worth, I was born and raised here in Orlando, but I guess I don’t always talk strictly Southern!

  5. Allison

    Wow. It said I am “100% Dixie. Is General Lee your father?” I guess I really shouldn’t be surprised as I don’t know of any family who lives north of Knoxville (TN), south of Newnan (GA – except you guys!), east of Atlanta (GA) or west of Birmingham (AL)!

  6. j2andn2

    Allison – that is hilarious!! I wonder how many people get 100%?!

  7. Hana

    47% Yankee…I am proud.

  8. j2andn2

    Allison – this is Jason and that cracks me up. So do you say crick or creek? I only wish I was 100% Dixie but I am 89% (Dixie). And the question “Did you have any Confederate ancestors?” is probably a true statement. Pretty funny test babe.

  9. Well, my dad’s family was from the South (NC, AL, FL), but my mom’s family was from Canada, so that’s probably why I came in at “just barely a Yankee” at 49%. I do have Confederate ancestors, but I live in Chicago. So I can go either way and be happy.

    Fun quiz. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

