Waste Management

wast management truckI had a personal visit from our Waste Management personnel the other day! Who knew they did house calls?!

Well, you see, I called them with a request last week. For some reason, they have decided to start their pick-up on our street at the crack of dawn! The crack of dawn, I tell you! Seriously, some days it is as early as 5:50 AM! And as we know…that is way too early for me! And this has not always been the case for our Waste Management service. I mean, I have lived here for several years, and it has never been this early.

The problem that really arises from this issue, is the fact that my kids love the garbage truck! They are fascinated with it! And they want to see the garbage truck when it comes. Even when it is 5:50 in the morning!!! So, twice a week now, for a couple of months, they will wake up yelling and sometimes upset because they are afraid they are going to miss it! To which, my reply is that it is way too early to be doing this sort of thing! Most of the time they look through the blinds to see it, but they end up fighting over fitting in the window. And let me tell you, that is a load of fun to wake up to! We, of course, tell them to go back to bed, but that never lasts.

So, therefore I will lay in bed, in denial that this is really happening at the crack of dawn! Eventually getting up to the two kids that are either so happy and loud, or fighting and loud!

I figured they obviously were on a different route all those years before, maybe they could go back to that route. So, I called and made a request. Wondering if it would really do any good, praying that it would, and hoping!

So, they came to my door to inquire about my request. I was so amazed and so embarrassed. But I went on to explain what I just explained above. To which they apologized for them coming at 5:50 because they aren’t supposed to start until 6:00. Ha! We were all laughing about it and here are some of the things I said:

“Well, I just don’t think 6:00 is very courteous. I mean, my momma taught me never to call anyone before 9:00.”

“I seriously can not keep starting my day that early with these munchkins (noting Nicholas behind me) starting their fighting right away! That just makes for a very long day and not a happy momma!”

The guys told me they start that early because it gets so hot here and they can’t have their men passed out on the side of the road. “Well, I don’t want that either. But it is starting to get cooler now.”

“Please don’t say no right now, why don’t you just pray about it for a little while!”

So, we had fun laughing and discussing it all. And they didn’t say no. They are going to work on it. I suggested even starting at the back of our neighborhood bringing them to us at 7:00 or 7:30. We’ll see.

1 Comment

Filed under Around the House, In my Brain

One response to “Waste Management

  1. That’s too funny! I bet the person who came to your door had a good laugh all the way home…imagine how many others mom probably have the same issues and you’re the first to actually DO something about it! Good for you!!! LOL

Leave a Reply

