Through the Valley

Several times this week I have heard the song by Third Day, “Mountain of God”. Could be because our radio station seems to be repetitive most of the time, but I also think it was a message from God for me.

You see, here’s the chorus:
Even though the journey’s long,
and I know the road is hard.
Well the one who’s gone before me,
He will help me carry on.
And after all that I’ve been through,
now I realize the truth
that I must go through the valley
to stand upon the Mountain of God.

You may wonder, why this week it has stood out to me? Well, once again in life, I have been observant of a tragedy. In fact, just yesterday we went to the Memorial Service of our co-worker who died just over a week ago. I share this because it seems that whenever I am faced with the suffering of this world, it breaks my heart. It is hard for me to grasp at times. And I find that I just don’t like it! Not that any of us do, but I am finding for me that it is a real issue of faith and trust.

Yesterday at the service, a counselor shared his thoughts. He basically said this, that life is confusing, messy, and even hurtful. And that he realized that most of the time he wanted to be able to “fix” that for people. And yet, he has learned that he can’t fix it, but more that he can be there to help people process and grow through it.

I, too, feel that way. That I want life not to be confusing, messy or hurtful. The Bible tells us that in this world we will have trouble (John 16:33). Yet, for some reason, I am continually surprised by the suffering. Not that I am saying I shouldn’t be surprised, but it’s becoming clearer that the process my faith and trust go to in the midst of it, is not relying on the Lord. As the rest of that verse and others tell us that God is with us in that suffering and to trust Him. It is all a part of the process of life. This earth is not our home, and we were not intended for the junk of this world. But because of sin, it is here! And God is here with us!

3 Comments

Filed under In my Brain

3 responses to “Through the Valley

  1. Oh, I am really sorry to hear that your co-worker passed away. I totally know how you feel when you talk about how in times of suffering and seeing the world around you suffering, that your trust and faith is challenged. I have always struggled with this, too. I wish I had the answers, but I don’t. This journey with learning to depend on God and trust Him, even when we don’t understand, is very difficult at times. Just know that I am thinking of you and hoping that God will strengthen your trust in Him when it gets tough…I know He will!

  2. Rinnie

    Thanks for your honesty, Jill. Suffering makes me so long for heaven, when there’ll be no suffering and tears.

  3. I’ve always believed if earth were perfection there’d be no need for Heaven. The pain of this place makes me long for the other so much more! I absolutely love this Third Day song…

    Thanks for visiting my blog today…!!

    Lisa

Leave a Reply

