Netflix

We had a free trail month of Netflix this month. It was really fun! Jason and I typically don’t watch many movies…in fact, I don’t think we even went to the movies one time while we were dating. It’s not that we don’t like them…we do. So, I am not really sure what that’s about, just an interesting observation. So here is what we have watched this month and a quick observation of what I thought about them:

The Pursuit of Happyness – good, but very depressing. Seemed like the poor man couldn’t get a break! But thankfully there was victory at the end.
Happy Feet – Disappointing. so many people talked about it, I thought it would be better. I mean the little guy was cute, but his dancing bit got old after a while. And I didn’t care for all the new agey feel of the movie.
The Holiday – Liked it. Kind of slow. But great story line.
The Guardian – I actually didn’t watch it. Jason liked it.
Just Like Heaven – I really liked this one. I just love Reese Witherspoon! She is so non-pretentious. And the story was really cute and sweet.
Failure to Launch – quirky but cute. Too much like “How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days”, so not very unique. But fun to watch.
The Cutting Edge – I used to ice-skate competitively growing up, so I enjoy watching movies like this. But, I must say I was amazed by the language and even partial nudity in this teenie-bop movie! Not the best acting either. I liked the story though.
The Bachelor – It was O.K. nothing real special or even note-worthy.
One Night with the King – LOVED IT! Pleasantly surprised. Usually bible history based movies make me snore, but this one was very well done. Kept me intriqued and even was renewing to my faith to see God’s hand at work in that story! Plus our church just went through a series on Esther, so that made it even more enlightening.
And last night, we watched “Garden State” – Very Bizarre. Not a real fan of their use of the F-word. The story was intriguing enough to keep me watching.

So, have you seen any of these movies? What did you think?

5 Comments

Filed under Around the House

5 responses to “Netflix

  1. Hana

    I’ve seen them all except Happy Feet (I don’t have kids) and The Guardian. I have always loved Cutting Edge, I enjoyed One Night with the King, and Garden State is one of my favorites…it’s the sad but true representation of my generation. The rest I wasn’t real impressed with. We did just watch a very good movie the other night…Mike also blogged about it. It’s called The Painted Veil and it has a strong redemptive theme…something rare in movies these days.

  2. We LOVE Netflix! We live in a very tiny (pop 176) rural town, so no video rental stores.

    We like to get seasons with our subscription – we’re working our way through “Mad About You” and “24”.

    We also enjoyed “One Night With the King” two weeks ago – very, very good.

    We really love to get old movies for the boys to enjoy – “Old Yeller”, “Swiss Family Robinson”, “The Absent Minded Professor”, etc…

    Are you gonna sign up or what? 😉

  3. That’s a lot of movies for people who don’t watch a lot of movies! I just watched The Illusionist and loved it. I’ve been watching a lot of old Katherine Hepburn movies.

  4. Elise –
    We actually are not signing up. We just really don’t watch movies that much. And plus we are really cheap! 🙂 But we have enjoyed catching up on movies we probably would’ve never seen.

  5. I’ve enjoyed quite a few of the movies that you mentioned. Great mind think alike!

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I have answered the question that you asked about

Leave a Reply

