The Dentist

So, tomorrow I am going to the Dentist! I am very nervous about it! Let’s just say it has been a LONG time since I have been to the dentist. It has kind of gotten to the point where it is embarrassing to go because it has been so long.

I am just hoping my visit doesn’t turn out like my friend, Patricia. I have never had a cavity before, so my chances for a good report might be good. So, we’ll see.

Must be dentist week, because the kids are going the next day. They have never been before. I decided to take them to a pediatric dentist in hopes that they might start out their dentist experiences with less fear than I have. We’ll see if it makes a difference.

What’s with the universal “Fear” of the dentist anyway? How did it start? Where does it come from? And is there any one that really enjoys going to the dentist?

5 Comments

Filed under In my Brain

5 responses to “The Dentist

  1. Kristin

    Silly girl. Are you kidding me? Aren’t kids supposed to go to the dentist at their first birthday?
    If Great West would cover it, I would go to the dentist every month. There is NOTHING like the feel of just cleaned and polished teeth. But, alas, we can only go every 6 months + one day. Sadness.
    Let us know how it goes! I’m jealous. I can’t go again till the fall.

  2. Hana

    I HATE the dentist…truly, with the picking, grinding, and otherwise ultra intrusive and painful procedures, what is there to like? I may be a little biased because I just had a root canal…

  3. Rinnie

    I hate going to the dentist, and came the closest I’ve ever come to a panic attack just getting my teeth cleaned last year for the first time in about 10 years!! But I’ve really tried to make the kids think it’s fun.

    We had a friend who was a dentist and he got so frustrated with kids who were scared stiff just because their parents transfered their dental fear to their kids. So I’m trying to not be that mom!!

    Hope the appointments go OK. Are you taking the kids to Dr. Taylor?

  4. Anna

    Hey Jill! I’m delurking to say that I DO enjoy going to the dentist. I just went this morning! I like it because I’ve never had anything wrong with my teeth, so all they do is compliment me nonstop. How can I not enjoy it? Let me know if you like your pediatric dentist. I need to take Evie to one within a few months.

  5. It’s almost January and most people time for “New Year Resolution.” I have researched many places online and haven’t found much about “dentist New year Resolution.”(Funny!!) Just thinking of many ideas to get individuals who don’t see dentists on regular basis to invest some “times” and visit a local dentist. Your ideas will be appreciated. Thank you

Leave a Reply

