Almost Done

We are almost done with the bathroom! Yippee!

I am so ready for it to be over! It has been quite an ordeal and has pretty much consumed my life for the past month or so. From going to 10 different tile stores, Lowes, Home Depot, or Ace to actually working on the thing. I am glad that we are saving the money by doing it ourselves, and it is really fun to have the sense of accomplishment, but boy…it is quite an undertaking! And yes, I am doing some of the work, too. In fact, I have helped with most every stage! I even had my hands down in the mortar, smoothing it all out for the shower floor (I have dry, cracked hands to prove it)!

jill and scott
scott and Jason

Also in the pictures is my brother, Scott. He came down and helped us with the shower this past weekend! Thanks, Scott!

As you can also see, I finally did land on a tile for the shower walls (at the last place I went)…and I love it! I could just sit in there and stare at it all day! Here’s a picture of it all done on the walls:

tile

So, we still have to grout the shower floor, put in the hardware and door and do some finishing touches to the rest of the bathroom (oh and do the vanity in the other part of the bathroom). Hopefully that will all be done this weekend. I won’t know what to do with myself or how to resume life back as normal (whatever that means).

7 Comments

Filed under Around the House

7 responses to “Almost Done

  1. Pam

    That’s awesome! I love the tile. Can’t wait to see it in real life. I know what you mean about having a sense of accomplishment about doing it yourself. Even if you don’t want to ever do it again it’s nice to see what you accomplished.

  2. Rinnie

    It’s looking really good – great job!!! That’s how I felt about our bathroom floor that I tiled. I’d go in there just to look at it. 🙂

  3. Jason

    I am sure there will be another project from somewhere. If nothing else we need to get ready for springtime outside. Lots of yard work. Jill has been quite the worker. I think she could go into tile work to make us some extra money. Anyone need any work done?

  4. Looks awesome! I don’t know how you find the time to do it all!

  5. j2andn2

    Patricia – I don’t know how I find the time to do it either. Pretty much everything else has been neglected. You should see the rest of my house…it is a mess. Which is kind of overwhelming because not only do we need to finish the project well and clean-up from that but we need to give the whole house a good clean-up too! And then like Jason mentioned…there’s the yard after months of not attending to.
    As the saying goes, “The joys of homeownership!” 🙂

  6. Jen

    Looks Great! I can only imagine how good you and Jason will feel after this is all done. You will be taking really looooonnnngggg showers : )

  7. Hurray! It’s finally done! Looks great! Can I hire you both someday to redo our master bath? Now you can sit back, relax, and enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

