To Do Pre-K or Not

preschool lettersThat is the big question around our house right now!

For those of you that don’t know, Florida offers a free voluntary Pre-K program (VPK). That’s right – free! And the other cool thing is that many churches that were already offering Pre-K are now offering the free program.

So, what is the question?

Well, I don’t know if it is because Natalie is our first child or what. But at one moment, I think this would really be great for her. She would love it! She is such an extrovert and loves people and learning! Then in the next moment, I think how I am not ready for her to go to school yet. I love being with her! (as much as she can drive me crazy sometimes) Plus there are the concerns of choosing the right place for her. Are the other kids going to be a good influence on her? Will she be safe? All kinds of questions begin to enter my mind.

And the process of getting in…my goodness!!! You would think I was trying to get her into the Olympics or something! It is such a great effort and challenge! For obvious reasons, the VPre-K program is very popular and hard to get into.

In fact, Natalie is #23 on the list at one school I called. And the other school I looked into has only 2 spots left (and they begin public enrollment on Monday). Of which, I asked that lady, “So, do I need to camp-out to get her in?”

Well, I guess that’ll for sure be the deciding factor, if we can’t even get her in!

1 Comment

Filed under About the Kiddos, In my Brain

One response to “To Do Pre-K or Not

  1. Jen

    So…did you get her in today? Did you have to beat up any of the other Moms? : )

Leave a Reply

