Our Anniversary

cirqueOur anniversary was Saturday. We have been married 6 years.

To celebrate, Jason took me to Cirque du Soleil, La Nouba. I have been wanting to go for so long and it was well worth it!!! It is absolutely fabulous! The talent these people have is amazing!

If you don’t know what it is, La Nouba is part circus and part theater, bringing together gymnasts, tumblers, vocalists and dancers. Absent are the animals, dust and ringmaster, but there is still plenty of circus entertainment from the clowns, high-wire act and the flying trapeze. There are several different skills/Acts performed throughout the show.

Here are some of my favorites:

cirque 2The Diabolos (Chinese Yo-Yo). These little girls (all under 14 years old) use a rope to toss a heavy wooden spool through the air while performing flips and keeping time with the music. Abosultely amazing!

cirque 3I also thought the Roue allemande (German Wheel) was really cool! These guys are balanced in this hoop and twist and turn all over the stage, and they make it look so effortless.

Then of course, there is the fascinating Flying Trapeze! I just don’t know how they do that!

cirque 4And I particularly enjoyed the Power Track/Trampoline! Many of the performers show off thier amazing acrobatics. They are jumping, flipping, and flying everywhere. Many times they are jumping over each other or jumping into the windows on this building. Really cool!

And believe it or not, there was so much more. Those are just my highlights and favorites! So, thank you, Jason, for surprising me with this. And thank you to my dear friend, Jennifer and her family, who kept our kids that night so we could go. What a blessing!

6 Comments

Filed under Around the House

6 responses to “Our Anniversary

  1. You are right, Jill! That show is absolutely amazing to watch! I took Scott for his birthday one year several years ago and I was just in awe the whole time! It is a wonderful treat to experience! My favorite was also those yong Chinese girls with the glowing green spools..their dexterity was unbelievable!

  2. rob

    Happy Anniv! And yes, Patricia and I went a few years ago. Amazing.

  3. Yay! glad you had such a good time! I love that show (but I wish they would get a new one! 🙂 )

  4. La Nouba is Great! So I’m glad you liked it. I agree with Matt about getting a new one. There’s a different show up here in DC, but I’m not going to go to it.

  5. Pam

    Congratulations on six years! I loved La Nouba, too.

  6. Happy Belated Anniversary! Just getting around to reading blogs…so sorry so late!

Leave a Reply

