Lies in my Head

Stop I very often will hear lies in my head. It is so frustrating!

Just the other day, I went to pick up the kids from Gymnastics. We have had some struggles lately with Natalie’s attitude and demanding spirit. Well, when I went to pick them up she had some major ATTITUDE. She was totally not listening and I did not know how I was going to get her (and Nicholas) out of there. I quickly became embarrassed by her behavior.

As for the lies, I started hearing in my head, “These other people think I am a bad mother. They don’t think I discipline her. They think she is a brat. They don’t like her. We shouldn’t come here anymore. I guess they don’t have kids that act like this…” And on and on. I wanted to cry right there and then.

Thankfully I am at a point in my life where I recognize these lies as they enter my head. And I am trying not to believe them (for I know that is what the evil one would want me to do). I pray I become quicker and quicker at dismissing it.

So, what lies do you hear in your head? Come on…be honest. 🙂 It’ll be good to confess it and therefore creating less power they can have in your brain.

6 Comments

Filed under In my Brain

6 responses to “Lies in my Head

  1. Hmm, there are medications to help with all those voices in your head…

    Just kidding! I can totally relate. Most of the battle is having the self awareness to recognize those internal messages. the lies become pretty toothless after that.

  2. Jen

    That I am getting old! I cannot really be as old as I feel lately : )

  3. Oh, Jill, I totally see myself in your description of the scenario when picking up your kids from gymnastics! I know I have told you this before, but seriously, Sierra was the EXACT same way and somtimes she still does embarrass me when I pick her up from some activity. It has gotten better over the years, but she will always be a strong-willed child with her own agenda. Anyway, I remember so many thoughts going through my head when she was younger about how embarrassed I was in public over her tantrums or scenes of defiance. I would listen to thoughts like, “You’re obviously not doing something right…look at everyone else’s children and how no one else’s child seems to act like this in public”. Or, “These other parents must think you just don’t know how to handle your child…she must be a spoiled brat, just look at how she is acting!” I was always feeling like a failure as a mother, especially since Sierra is our first-born child. It took me a long time to get past the constant embarrassment in public and to accept my situation and child’s temperament as it is, despite whatever things I may try to do to change it. Just know that I have been in your exact same shoes for many years and have experienced the anxiety, frustration, embarrassment, and all the other negative emotions that come from feeling powerless over the situation. I just keep reminding myself that God specifically gave us this child for a purpose and He knew that with His grace, we would be the right parents for the job! :o)

  4. Pam

    You’re right about voicing the lies so they have less power. Let’s see…one of mine would be, “If I were a better homemaker I wouldn’t be so stressed out to clean my entire house when people come over.”

  5. Teri Sommer

    Hi there…I have recently come onto the blog scene. And I found your blog through a friend who checks Catbird Seat blogsite often. She told me I had to check out that one, and then I wound my way to yours through her most recent post. Anyway, I sooooo relate to this post because I just had one of those moments in a Target bathroom here in GA just yesterday. I have a 2 1/2 year old and a 5 year old. The drama that undid me yesterday left me the rest of the day wrestling with my identity. Something the Lord is working hard on these days. It is always refreshing to me to find others who are in the same place as I am. Maybe the old saying is true – misery loves company. Maybe it is just great to find someone else willing to be honest outloud. I think it gives us all courage to be real, step out of the facades we try to hide behind. Thanks for being honest. You’ve given me courage to do the same. Blessings to you and the precious ones in your life! Teri Sommer

  6. Thanks for your honesty everyone.
    And thanks to Teri for her encouragement of posting an honest post. It was hard to post something so vulnerable. I am glad it was received well and was an encouragement to others. That is a quality I really appreciate is realness and vulnerability. So, I hope to provide more of this on my blog and as a result to have people comment more vulnerably as well. So much of blogging is so trivial and that is fun, but I like the vulnerable, thought-provoking ones as well.

Leave a Reply

