His Strength

This week has been a challenging one, to say the least. I forgot how hard it is to take care of a child who is ill and totally dependent on you. Poor Nick has pretty much laid around all day for a week, whining and coughing continuously. I love him and feel bad for him, but there was one day that when Jason got home, I had to go sit outside in the quiet and escape from the constant noise.

One day this week, I was so overwhelmed with my inability to care for him and keep up with everything in the house and life, and our daughter. I just cried because I couldn’t imagine how I am possibly going to survive and manage it all with a 3rd child coming into the picture in 3 months.

Then the next morning I was bonked on the head by what I read in my devotional “Jesus Calling” (which I love, by the way). It is written as if Jesus were speaking to you, and here is what it said:

“When I gave you My Spirit, I empowered you to live beyond your natural ability and strength. That’s why it is so wrong to measure your energy level against the challenges ahead of you. The issue is not your strength, but Mine, which is limitless. By walking closely to Me, you can accomplish My purposes in My strength.”

Wow! That is what I am totally doing…looking at the circumstances and freaking out about how I am going to do it all in my strength. Thank goodness I don’t have to do it all in my strength, but that I can rely on Him to help me through!

“To this end I labor, struggling with all His energy, which so powerfully works in me.” (Col. 1:29)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “His Strength

  1. Judy Howell

    Thanks, Jill. I needed that lesson today. I am behind reading your blog and just read that. We need to remember who is in control of our life and leave it to Him.
    Love you,
    Judy

Leave a Reply

